Canvas Site Access after Course Ends for Students

Modified on Thu, 09 May 2024 at 11:23 AM

By default, Canvas courses are active for students for a few weeks after a term ends. For a list of term end-dates in Canvas, please consult: Terms in Canvas


When a Canvas site is active, students can perform actions in the site (for example: post to a discussion).


Once a term ends, a Canvas site enters a read-only state. When this happens, the site is visible to students when they enter Canvas, click Courses, and scroll down to past enrollments. The student can view content on the site but can no longer edit or submit assignments.


Please note: 
  • If you are a student, your instructor might decide to change access settings to your course's Canvas site. If it seems that you do not have access to your course's Canvas site before the term end-date, please email online-learning-help@sas.upen.edu so we can investigate further.
  • If you are a graduating student and have questions about accessing your Canvas site after graduation, please consult: Canvas after Graduation

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article